In the village of Schaumburg there, is only one building on the National Register of Historic Places. It is a hidden gem that, for many years was a private residence. Known as the Paul Schweikher House, this home was built in 1938 by Mr. Schweikher, a renowned architect who lived on the 7 acre site until 1953 when he moved to Connecticut to head Yale University’s architecture school.
You now have an opportunity to view this local architectural wonder. The Schweikher House Preservation Trust, in conjunction with Docomomo Tour Day 2015, is pleased to offer tours of this Prairie-styled home.
The house will be open to the public for pre-scheduled, 40-minute tours on Saturday, October 10 2015 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
The cost of the tours is $25 per person, paid in advance of the event with a maximum of 12 persons per tour. For registration, visit http://schweikherhouse.org/tours/, call Executive Director Todd Wenger at (847) 923-3866 or email email@example.com.
Tours of the house will feature Schweikher’s masterful integration of brick, glass, and wood, including an iconic brick fireplace, passive solar room, cantilevered construction, exposed wood beams, built-in furniture, a Japanese soaking tub, raked gravel courtyard, and gardens designed by the noted Midwestern landscape architect Franz Lipp.
This event is being sponsored by the Schweikher House Preservation Trust For information about the house, please visit www.schweikherhouse.org.