HOLIDAYS AT WOODFIELD MALL

 

 

Woodfield Christmas

If you’ve spent any time at all in the Schaumburg Township area during the holiday season, Woodfield Mall is a must visit.  Center Court is always completely bedecked with lavish decorations, the various wings are full of shoppers  and Santa can be found in his chair during most of the hours the mall is open.

Recently one of my fellow librarians found this commercial  on the website of the Museum of Classic Chicago Television.  The commercial advertises Woodfield Mall at Christmastime and aired on November 14, 1984.  It featured a number of items that were ideal gifts for their shoppers and is a true 1980s theme with Izod shirts, boom boxes and square-faced watches.  (Which of the perfume bottles do you recognize??)

Please take note, too, of the “We Have It All” theme running through the commercial.  And, of course, they always recognize their anchor stores.  Note how they flash past you at the end–J C Penney, Sears, Lord & Taylor and Marshall Fields.

What are your favorite Christmas memories of Woodfield Mall?  Sitting on Santa’s lap?  Madly rushing around to find the perfect gift(s) on Christmas Eve?  Going to the theater on Christmas Day?  Or, something so simple as finding the perfect parking place up close?  We’d love to hear.  Or, maybe, tell us your favorite gift from Woodfield Mall.  Don’t we all have one?!?

Jane Rozek
Local History Librarian

 

3 Responses to “HOLIDAYS AT WOODFIELD MALL”

  1. DN Says:

    I used to love Woodfield at Christmastime.For parking, my Dad used to drive up and down until he could secure a parking spot by the upper-level of Marshall Field. Funny because after a long absence in the area, I went there and out of habit finding myself doing the same thing. As a little boy, of course my memories bring me to waiting in the line to see Santa. I always thought it was neat how they would design it each year. I remember many years it resembled almost like a castle structure before it went to a house look. When we would see it under construction I would get so excited for Christmas. That lead me to pulling out the huge JC Penny catalog, and going right to the toy section in the back and strategically ear marking pages that had items I wanted, for my parents to find…lol. Kids these days will never know the joy of the huge department store catalogs showing up and spending hours going through them (especially the editions around the holidays). Holiday shopping was an event for me. Funny because as a little kid, crowds don’t bother you much. Then as an adult you think to yourself now i know why my parents dreaded Christmas shopping. During shopping my family would split up, do our thing, then meet back up for lunch at either John’s Garage or The Slicer (loved the Slicer’s sarsaparilla)

    As a teen, I had a job at Merle Harmon’s Fan Fare (was in the mid-tier level, next to Roy Rogers). One of my main duties was to heat transfer players names on the backs of pro sports jerseys. I will never forget working there during the holidays during the Bears 1985-86 football season. The Bears were Super Bowl bound and I think I must of customized about 30-40 Bears jerseys a day. The store was mobbed each day and I burned myself several times (minor burns) on the heating unit because I was in such a rush to churn out the jerseys for the shoppers. You had to perfectly space and line up the numbers and letters by hand/eye so with the pressure of crowds, it was a little nerve racking at times. Although… will say as far as teen jobs go, that was the one I liked best that I had at the mall. Was a fun place to work.

    As I got older I didn’t go to Woodfield that much. I then eventually moved to downtown Chicago for decade. When i got married and returned to the burbs two of the first places i went to visit were my boyhood home and Woodfield. Things are so different. My Hoffman Estates neighborhood doesn’t look as nice anymore (Westbury), my old home looks like it hasn’t been kept up well. Woodfield suprised me. Modern and up to date with retail mall trends… but just doesn’t have the same feel for me. It was nice… but maybe I am old fashioned. Of course, all things change and I guess thats why we have memories. Thanks for posting about Woodfield. This was one of my favorite places as a kid, especially around the holidays.

    • jrozek Says:

      DN, This is a marvelous comment. Thank you very much for providing such good detail on how important Woodfield was to you during your young years in Schaumburg Township. From the big display at Center Court, to the parking, to your family’s favorite restaurants, to your first job–you covered it all. I can’t ask for much more than this in a comment. You nailed it. Thank you!

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian
      Schaumburg Township District Library

  2. nenamatahari Says:

    I miss the fountain and fish tanks. How long have those been gone? I like the older days of Christmas at Woodfield better than today.

Leave a Reply

