REMEMBER THESE RESTAURANTS?

One of the blog readers was cleaning out some storage and discovered these matchbooks that he picked up at Schaumburg Township restaurants of the 1980s.  I had either been in or knew of all of them but one.  Hillary’s was completely unfamiliar to me.  What are your memories of these eateries?  Did you make frequent stops?  What was your favorite meal?  Make all of us hungry!

Matchbook 3

Matchbook 8

Matchbook 7Matchbook 6Matchbook 5Matchbook 4Matchbook 2Matchbook 1     

16 Responses to “REMEMBER THESE RESTAURANTS?”

  1. Johnny Kunzer Says:

    I had all but forgotten about the Rusty Scupper. We went there on occasion and the food was decent but not particularly great. It was located where the Olive Garden now stands across Golf Road from the Hyatt.

  2. Dave Olson Says:

    Googling, I see there is a Hillary’s restaurant currently in Lake Bluff and also in Waukegan. It was originally in North Chicago. Their current logo bears a fair amount of similarity to the logo on the old matchbox, as both are written in similar script style. I’m thinking that matchbox was maybe from Hillary’s in North Chicago and wasn’t in Schaumburg or HE, but of course I’m only guessing. Maybe someone else remembers it there.

    • jrozek Says:

      Hillary’s was at One Woodfield Lake “in the two building corporate center immediately north of E. Woodfield Road, just east of Plum Grove Road.” The latter information is from the gentleman who donated the match books. I found the address in one of our old NSACI Community Profiles.” According to the ad in the Profile, they also had another location in the Mezzanine Level of Water Tower Place.

      I’ll share the interior photo of the Schaumburg restaurant and the Rusty Scupper at a later date!

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian

      • John Karge Says:

        Hillarys restaurant in Schaumburg was my first or second real job. The only reason why I worked there was because I was a young teenage boy that loved the older women and this was a bar that my older siblings and their friends traveled from Evanston to go and hangout at. I was living with my parents in the Schaumburg area, so needless to say I was in ” little brother heaven”…. I was cool…

  3. KEITH Says:

    Fu-Lama Gardens, next door to B’Ginnings,
    We had the club Christmas party there, 1976

  4. Dave N Says:

    At at a few of these places. I believe El Torito took over the building that Victoria Station was in (remember the train car sitting outside?). I remember eating at the Black Pearl. My Mom loved the fried ice cream at Carlos Murphys. My parents also ate at the Rusty Scupper a lot. Hippos was a Saturday afternoon staple for my father and I. He used to take me with him to run his Saturday morning errands and we would always get lunch at Hippos before returning home. Was very special for me. I had two older brothers and one older sister… but this was a weekly event for just my father and I. He would tell me all sorts of stories about when he was a kid and things he and his Dad did. Of course, every time on the way home my Dad would remind me not to tell my brothers or my sister…LOL. I am glad I have that memory of my father and I. Who knew that as I became an adult how special a simple trip to a hot dog place would be considered down the road. In fact, I try to do the same things with each of my kids. I can tell they enjoy special lunches and time together just as much as I did.

  5. Russell Stautmeister Says:

    I have a recollection of a Shakey’s Pizza on the south side of Roselle Road between Higgins Road and Golf Road somewhere in the vicinity between where the Firestone Tire Store and the Walgreen’s Drug Store are presently located in the late 1960’s and early 1970’s timeframe. Anybody else?

  6. Russell Stautmeister Says:

    Hi, me again. I made a slight mistake. I believe that the Shakey’s was on the “west” side of Roselle Road ( not the “south” which would be difficult to accomplish on a north-south road) between Walgreen’s and Firestone. Pardon the error. At any rate, everything else remains the same.

    • jrozek Says:

      Hello Russell,

      I found a listing for a Shakey’s Pizza in a 1970 edition of the Daily Herald that mentioned a restaurant at 109 Roselle Road in Hoffman Estates. There is no such address that exists today but, back in 1970, the numbering was different for Roselle Road. I then talked to Pat Barch, the Hoffman Estates historian, who confirmed it with two others that there was indeed a Shakey’s Pizza on Roselle Road between Golf and Higgins. It was later the location of Naugle’s and Spring Garden as well. It is now a KFC. Hope this answers your question!

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian

  7. jeff Says:

    worked at Hillary’s in 80s as prep cook . Had great prime rib/steaks/seafood/ salads/bar. Very friendly staff. Nice outdoor balcony on the lake. Great place for banquets/buffets. Prime rib was so good cooked to order with au juice fresh tater yum ;]

  8. Kim Says:

    The Black Pearl was originally called Lum’s. It was on The north side of Golf Rd. just west of Roselle, next to a garden center. My stepfather was the manager from about 1968-1970 until he transferred to the Glen Ellyn Lum’s Restaurant. He became friendly with the lawn center manager who gave us a discount when we bought our lime green Lawn-Boy lawn mower in 1969.

  9. Rich Says:

    Oh man El Torito! I had my introduction to fried ice cream there back in the late ’80’s!

    I had my first “legal” alcoholic beverage at Bennigans the evening I turned 21 (my parents took me out to dinner for my birthday). I had many more that night with friends at a bar that I can’t remember the name of.

    All of that seems so long ago, probably because it was!

  10. joe Says:

    I worked at Hillarys in the early 80s and still have the velvet sheen jacket with the logo on it packed away in the attic somewhere. It was forest green with white lettering, just like the matchbook. The resturant was named after the owners daughter. Very nice place to eat and they bar was usually very busy. Brunch was also big there , especially during the holidays. I worked as an expediter in the kitchen and also did delivery and prep work. A lot of nice people worked there, and the tips were good. The place died out as the local office buildings lost tenants and they lost the walk in crowd. Increased local competition affected them also. Last time I drove by there the place was was no longer a resturant.

    Who can forget Hippos ! Best hot dog place around…well at least until before the closed….near the end the quality suffered a bit. I went to Conant in the 70s and we would walk to hippos for lunch a lot. Hippos and Barnebys were the big hangouts after the football games. I remember that so many people would go to Barnebys they started charging people at the door to walk in. I think it was a $1 and it could be redeemed towards a food or drink purchase. I was so sad to see that place close.

    I remember going to Black Pearl because they would serve us drinks without carding. My friends and I would go there when we were underage, but never really went back after we turned 21.

    Had my first Fajita at El Torito

    • jrozek Says:

      Joe,

      If you don’t mind, I would love to be able to contact you about the possibility of using your velvet sheen jacket in a local history exhibit on local restaurants. If you’re at all interested, can you contact me at jrozek@stdl.org It would be a great addition!

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian
      Schaumburg Township District Library

  11. joe Says:

    Sure .. Let me see if I can dig it up and your welcome to keep it.

Leave a Reply

