APPEARING THEN AT WOODFIELD MALL…

Recently I was asked if I have a list of the famous people who have appeared at Woodfield Mall over the years.

Of course there were these celebrities that kicked off the opening of Woodfield on September 9, 1971.

Woodfield mallThey were Vincent Price and Carol Lawrence.

And then there was the rock group KISS that I recently wrote about.  They were here for the great Kiss-off on June 8, 1974.

That same year on October 2, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra also gave a performance.  I wrote about that one too.

The other two appearances that I’m familiar with and have yet to write about happened in 1976.  John Travolta paid a visit to an absolutely jam-packed Woodfield Mall on May 6.  Later in October, President Gerald Ford made a campaign stop during the presidential election.

Then, in a 20th anniversary special issue of Woodfield that was done by the Daily Herald, it was mentioned that Rick Springfield appeared at the mall in 1981.  Other appearances in the article include Ernie Banks, Zsa Zsa Gabor, Imogene Coca and the New Kids on the Block.     

Who am I missing?  Was there someone you paid a visit to see at one of the stores?  Or that the mall sponsored in Central Court?  If you know of someone who hasn’t been mentioned, I would really appreciate your comment.  Thank you for any assistance you can provide!

Jane Rozek
Local History Librarian
Schaumburg Township District Library

17 Responses to “APPEARING THEN AT WOODFIELD MALL…”

  1. Kevin Bowler Says:

    Trying to remember a person but i do remember the Astroid game competition for high score. I believe there was a picture and story about it in time magazine I think I’m in that picture.

  2. Marilyn Leuze Says:

    Dick Clark was at the Mall, November 11, 1976. He did a book signing for his “Rock, Roll and Remember” that had just been released. I have a copy of the Daily Herald article about it. I could send a copy to you if you would like. And, yes. . I did buy the book and had it autographed. 🙂

  3. Betsy Armistead Says:

    I recall seeing Tony Bennett perform in Center Court in what was probably 1995 or 1996. Also, Michael Jordan was there in the late 90’s, opening his Michael Jordan Store.

  4. Roselle History Museum Says:

    Hi Jane, I saw Ray Charles play the piano & sing in the center court around dinnertime one day. (no date)  I told my husband that I was not cooking dinner ,but will drive to Woodfield to hear him sing “Georgia On My Mind”.    Joan Beauprez   

  5. Kevin Franco Says:

    Joan: I was also there when Ray Charles performed at Woodfield Mall. I believe the year was 1978 or so.

  6. Ginger Woolard Says:

    I saw John Travolta there in 1975 or 1976. I was working there sometime around 1980 and saw T.J. Sheppard (country singer).

  7. jrozek Says:

    Jane Seymour also appeared at Wentworth Galleries on December 4 and 5, 2009 to showcase her artwork. Her presentation was “Jane Seymour: A One Woman Show” that included oils, acrylic and water-based paintings. She appeared a year earlier at the same store on October 3 and 4, 2008 and again on June 1, 2013.

    Kim and Khloe Kardashian also made a special appearance on April 20, 2012.

    Jane Rozek
    Local History Librarian

  8. john Says:

    I also saw ray Charles at woodfield mall. Im 43 now, I was about 5 or 6 then. It was in the center court of the mall. I also remember being right in front with other children sitting down around him…

  9. joe Says:

    When I worked at Magic Pan in the late 70s they would keep the resturant open for celebs after closing so they could dine in solitude. with their party. Usually they were in town for shows around the area. Back then you ran an imprint of the credit cards and physically senta copy of it in for payment processing. I ran an extra copy of some of the stars to keep them as a momento. I had some from Abe Vigoda, Carol Burnette, Bob Newhart, Red Foxx, and more. I know I still have them around the house somewhere, but cannot remember where they are. 😦

    • jrozek Says:

      I have heard many positive comments about Magic Pan but I sure didn’t know it was so popular the stars were eager to dine there! Thank you for the personal info…

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian
      Schaumburg Township District Library

  10. joe Says:

    I saw Arnold Swarzenegger (sp?)and Sandal Bergman at the Sports Authority on Golf in 82. They were there to promote the Conan movie , but it was not well publisized so the turnout was very low…maybe 10 people. I had found out about it from Kevin at Kevin’s Bookstore off Schaumburg Rd near where the Indian Resturant is now off Weathersfield. They stayed for about an hour and signed some autographs and chatted with the fans.

  11. Jeff Says:

    sticks played their

    • jrozek Says:

      Jeff,

      You are absolutely correct. Styx appeared on Saturday, August 2, 1975 at the House of Lewis clothing store. The following day Aliota, Haynes and Jeramiah appeared at the same store. They were another Chicago-based rock group.

      Thank you!

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian

  12. Tabitha Says:

    I remember my dad took me to see Gabe Kaplan signing books at a book store. Would have been the early 70s.

  13. Manda A. Says:

    Growing up in Rolling Meadows, I pracically lived at Woodfield Mall. n the mid to late 90’s, Seventeen magazine would sponsor celebrities performances. I saw one by Brandy in 1995 or 1996, and I got to shake her hand after her performance. As a 10 year old, what a great experience that was! They also sponsored a performance with Jennifer Love Hewitt the next year. It’s exciting to know how much history has taken place in that mall- had no idea that celebrities and music acts had been performing there for decades!

  14. Victoria Says:

    My family owned Bressler’s 33 Flavors ice cream shop in Woodfield around 1975 to 1981 or so, Charo visited the mall think late 70’s, and came to our store and kissed my father on the cheek! He has a always been a big fan of her’s was a great moment! I also remember seeing Wolf Man Jack walking down the hall where I store was located upper level, near JcPenney, I was young, but remember hearing him on the radio!

    • jrozek Says:

      Wow, Victoria, it’s nice to hear from those who had a vested interest in the mall. I keep an ongoing list of stores and restaurants that were in Woodfield and I did not have Bressler’s in that list. Thank you for the addition!

      I would bet your family has stories to tell about Woodfield in those days. The celebrities definitely came and went in that period!

      I have been considering an exhibit at the library of area restaurants. If you are still close to Schaumburg and your family has any items from their Bressler’s days that you might like to add to the exhibit, please contact me off the list. I’d be happy to talk.

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian
      Schaumburg Township District Library
      jrozek@stdl.org

Leave a Reply

