CAN YOU GUESS THE YEAR?

Woodfield Mall Center Court

This is a photo of the court near JC Penney’s that was taken from a local magazine.

Several of the stores are easily visible:  The Wild Pair (Shoe Store), Singer (Sewing Machines), Bakers, Madigans for Men, Dutch Mill Candies, Albert’s Hosiery and Flagg.

Take a guess and tell me what year this photo was taken.  And, if you can, tell us what that mysterious Flagg store was on the lower level.

***** This photo appeared in a November, 1978 issue.  Good job to those of you who guessed the late 1970’s!

*****  Also, thank you to those of you who helped identify Flagg as a shoe store.

Jane Rozek
Local History Librarian
Schaumburg Township District Library

10 Responses to “CAN YOU GUESS THE YEAR?”

  1. Mike Gallichio Says:

    1984.

  2. Bob Says:

    No idea about the year, but wasn’t Flagg a shoe store?

  3. gogetgoop2 Says:

    Im guessing 1980. And I believe Flagg was a Men’s shoe store.

  4. Michael San Filippo Says:

    I believe that “Flagg” is “Flagg Bros. Shoes.” If you zoom in you can see a sign that says “Style leaders,” which is a term they used in some earlier advertisements (see http://bhs.stparchive.com/Archive/BHS/BHS02261960p04.php).

  5. Dave N Says:

    I am guessing this has to be the late 70’s or very early 80’s. I am trying to use memory of going to some of the stores pictured to try and come up with a date. My sister took ballet in the late 70’s and would go to Alberts often for tights. I see several people in the picture with bell bottoms so has me thinking late 70’s/early 80’s again. I also recall the location of Dutch Mill Candies was also a Hot Sam’s Pretzels and I do remember my Mom getting me a pretzel from their on visits in the 80’s. So if the pretzel place came after then I have to say 70’s. If facing same direction of this picture there was also a small shoe repair to the right of Dutch Mill and a Tinder Box across from it. One thing that is making me guess 1979 is the rope around the sculpture. I know my brother climbed on that thing a lot and so did other kids because it had no rope around it. I thought it was the early 80’s they put a rope around it because of an injury the happened, if I recall correctly. My guess would be 1979.

  6. Paul Troy Says:

    My vote is 1976, which I think was also the year that President Carter made a stop at the mall. I was just a kid, so I may be off by a few years as to when he visited – but I was there with my parents!

    • jrozek Says:

      I am continuously discovering famous people who have made a visit to Woodfield. I certainly hadn’t heard about Jimmy Carter. I did a little research and discovered that President Ford stopped there on a campaign stop for the 1976 presidential election. He drew 50,000 people!

      Thank you for alerting me to a few more Woodfield visitors!

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian
      Schaumburg Township District Library

  7. howard Says:

    early 70s dutch mill closed or was sold and changed name,guess would be 72 only because my parents had one and moved to fl in 73

  8. Lou Zucaro Says:

    Not sure of the year, but this isn’t the Center Court…I believe this is the court at the JCPenney end of the mall. The Center Court would show the mezzanine level and all of the various brickwork, fountain, tunnel by the aquarium, etc. as well as the chrome light clusters that are missing here.

    • jrozek Says:

      Hello Lou,

      You are completely correct on which court this is! Thank you for bringing me up to speed. I have changed the text of the blog posting to reflect that this is the JC Penney court. Good catch!

      Jane Rozek
      Local History Librarian
      Schaumburg Township District Library

Leave a Reply

