CAN YOU HELP IDENTIFY THIS BARN?

I had such good luck identifying the churches in a previous posting that I thought I’d  try another unidentified photo.  This photo was part of a group of negatives that were recently found in the bottom of a box.  After the negatives were developed, this one really caught my eye. 

Not only is the barn rather distinctive with its large, relatively flat roof, but it looked somewhat familiar to me.   If you look closely, you will note that there is suburban tract housing in the background so the photo has to be ca. 1970s or 1980s.

Who can help me out with this?  Even if you give me a general location, I can check out the farming family who might have built this barn.  Any clue is a good clue.

***IDENTIFIED***

Once I passed this photo on to one of my contacts, he began making the rounds with it.  It has been confirmed that this was the barn on the William Volkening farm that was on the west side of Springinsguth Road where it meets Bode Road.  According to Mr. Heine, this barn caught fire in the 1960s.  A simple second story was added and the large, wide roof was put on. 

My thanks to Mr Heine, Mr. Sporleder, Mayor Larson,  Mrs. Armistead and Mrs. Presley for their assistance.

One Response to “CAN YOU HELP IDENTIFY THIS BARN?”

  1. Jane Rozek Says:

    It was suggested that this might have been the Volkening barn and/or one near the intersection of Bode and Springinsguth Road. I have run this past a couple of people who were familiar with that area during the farming era. They, too, admit it is a most unusual barn but said they could not confirm its location.

    One of my sources had a photo of the Volkening barn and said that it is not the same. So, we’re back to square one. Any other thoughts?

Leave a Reply

